A program of the Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas at the University of Texas at Austin

Home > Year By Year > 2011

12th International Symposium on Online Journalism


A program of the Knight Chair in Journalism, the UNESCO Chair in Communication and the Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas at the University of Texas at Austin

April 1-2, 2011

Activities took place at the AT&T Executive Education & Conference Center (1900 University Avenue).
Online registration at http://online.journalism.utexas.edu.
Thanks to the generous support of John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, The Dallas Morning News and UT College of Communication



7:30-8:30 a.m. Registration and Breakfast

8:30-8:45 a.m. Opening Session

  • Rosental Calmon Alves, Knight Chair in Journalism and UNESCO Chair in Communication, School of Journalism, UT Austin – Symposium Chair
  • Glenn Frankel, director, UT School of Journalism
  • Amy Schmitz Weiss, assistant professor, San Diego State University – Symposium Research Chair

8:45-9:30 a.m. Keynote Address: Reasons to be Cheerful: An Optimist's View on the State of Digital Journalism
Vivian Schiller, ex-president/CEO of NPR and ex-general manager of NYTimes.com

9:30-10:45 a.m. Paywalls: Charging for News Content. Does it Work?
Chair: Tim Lott, vice president/audience strategy, The Austin American Statesman

  • Jim Gerber, director of content partnerships, Google
  • Mark Medici, director of audience development, The Dallas Morning News
  • Jorge Meléndez, vice president for new media, Grupo Reforma, Mexico
  • Eivind Thomsen, Schibsted Media Group, Norway

10:45-11:00 a.m. Coffee Break

11:00-12:15 p.m. Designing for iPad and Other Mobile Devices:
Chair: Renita Coleman, UT School of Journalism

  • Paul Brannan, emerging platforms editor, BBC News
  • Filipe Fortes, chief technology officer, Treesaver
  • John Kilpatrick, vice president of design for The Daily

12:15-1:30 p.m. Lunch at Tejas

1:30-2:00 p.m. Keynote Address: Beyond Breaking News
Meredith Artley, vice president and managing editor, CNN.com

2:00-3:30 p.m. Research Panel: Examining News Innovations
Chair: Amy Schmitz Weiss, San Diego State University (Symposium research chair)

  • Tanja Aitamurto, University of Tampere, Finland, and Seth Lewis, University of Minnesota
  • Jake Batsell, Southern Methodist University
  • Mark Berkey-Gerard, Rowan University
  • Timothy Currie, University of King’s College
  • Carla Patrao and Antonio Dias Figueiredo, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Nikki Usher, University of Southern California, Annenberg School for Communication

3:30-3:45 p.m. Coffee Break

3:45-5:15 p.m. Research Panel: All About the Tweet and More
Chair: Cindy Royal, Texas State University

  • Dale Blasingame, Texas State University, San Marcos
  • Carrie Brown, University of Memphis, and others
  • Marcus Messner, Virginia Commonwealth University, and others
  • Elvira García de Torres (Universidad CEU Cardenal Herrera, Spain) and others


8:00-9:00 a.m. Registration and Breakfast

9:00-9:30 a.m. Keynote Address: Redefining Asia, Redefining Media

  • Madanmohan Rao, editor of The Asia Pacific Internet Handbook, India

9:30-10:45 a.m. Nonprofit Journalism Online: Is the Model Sustainable?
Chair: Paula Poindexter, University of Texas at Austin

  • Lisa Frazier, President & CEO, The Bay Citizen
  • Gustavo Gorriti, founder director, IDL-Reporteros, Peru
  • John Thornton, chairman of the board, Texas Tribune

10:45-11:00 a.m. Coffee Break

11:00-12:30 p.m. Research Panel: Beyond News Routines, Beyond News Consumption
Chair: Tom Johnson, University of Texas at Austin

  • Hsiang Iris Chyi and Monica Chadha, University of Texas at Austin
  • Ahmed El Gody, Orebro University, Sweden
  • Angela Lee, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania
  • Ingrid Bachmann and Summer Harlow, University of Texas at Austin
  • Jonathan Groves, Drury University, and Carrie Brown, University of Memphis
  • Brian Baresch, University of Texas at Austin, and others

12:30-1:30 p.m. Lunch at Tejas

1:30-2:00 p.m. Keynote address: Building a Platform for Neighborhood News and Information
Warren Webster, president of Patch Media

2:00-3:30 p.m. Engaging the Communities With the News
Chair: Jim Brady, consultant (former editor of TBD.com and WashingtonPost.com)

  • Espen Egil Hansen, editor in chief, VG Multimedia, Norway
  • Mitch Gelman, vice president, Clarity Digital Media - Examiner.com
  • Jennifer Preston, staff writer (former social media editor), The New York Times
  • Amanda Zamora, social media and engagement editor, The Washington Post

3:30-3:45 p.m. Coffee Break

3:45-5:30 p.m. Research Panel: Beyond the Conversation, Beyond Engagement
Chair: Chris Kabwato, School of Journalism and Media Studies, Rhodes University, South Africa.

  • C.W. Anderson, College of Staten Island (CUNY)
  • Alfred Hermida, UBC Grad. School of Journalism (Canada), and others
  • Seth Lewis, University of Minnesota
  • Kang Hui Baek, University of Texas at Austin, and others



University of Texas at Austin | Moody College of Communication | School of Journalism | Knight Center Journalism in the Americas